Working for the Sunday

I work six days a week now.  You’d think after having gone through several tax seasons I’d be used to having one day to myself.  But no, not me.  Last Sunday, I was so torn between spending the day just vegging out in my pj’s or going out to do something fun, that by the time I made up my mind, it was well after lunch already!  Half the day was gone and the rest of the day felt rushed.   That sucked!  Although, it wasn’t a total loss.  I got to see the movie “Coraline” in 3D, which was well worth getting out of Lazy Mode.

But now, Sunday’s coming up again and gaah!  I feel like I have so much to do that I don’t know what to do first!  I haven’t read the Sunday papers in so long I’m not sure why I keep my subscription.  Oh, for the Times Magazine, that’s right.  Which reminds me, I have to put away all the old newspapers for recycling. 

Then, there’s also a bunchof friends that I haven’t called, and I just know that the longer I put it off, I’ll miss out on more stuff, which will make the phone call even longer, which will then burn into other things I could be doing on Sunday!

There are places for me to explore, people for me to visit, food for me to devour and lots of fun to be had, all in one day that I wish there were more of me to do it all!  

Ha!  Will you listen to me?  The world is not ready for more than one Beth in it.   

Anyway, the thing that I’d love to do most on Sunday is something I am definitely trying to avoid.  It’s the one indulgence I know that would totally waste my one free day from work – I’d love to be able to sleep in.    I’ve been getting up earlier than usual just so I can get to work earlier, go home earlier, go to sleep earlier and do the same thing all over again the next day.  So, for one day, I’d love to not hear my alarm go off, to not worry about having to be somewhere, to do my daily stretches in bed, then roll over and go back to sleep…for 24 hours, if possible, but do you see how that would be a complete waste of a perfectly good Sunday?

~ by Binibining Beth on February 19, 2009.

5 Responses to “Working for the Sunday”

  1. The perfect solution, of course, is for your Sunday to be 48 hours long. I know, wishful thinking.

    I don’t envy you this time of year. Poor thing.

    I also have to say I never envisioned our first phone call being what it was. I had it in my mind that it would be dim lighting and orgasmic chocolate, or at least one of us in our beds. Not me on the way home from the gym in a wet swim suit, to discover that my cat had escaped outside and talking about taxes, of all things. Not that I don’t appreciate it, mind you, because I do. You’re the best Bad Beth and Beyond Bloggy Friend Ever.

    I feel sure that you understand what I’m trying to say. Right? (echoes)

  2. Jammie J – I was in bed! Well, getting ready to go to bed. I had a silly grin on my face the whole time I was talking to you, which is kind of hard to pull off when you’re talking about taxes….I couldn’t help it, you sound so goshdarn cute!! 😀

  3. 😆
    I sounded cute??? I did? I swear, you were the one who sounded cute. heh. I was horrified that I was keeping you from some much needed sleep and you didn’t sound like you cared about that at all. Talk about me feeling conflicted… 🙂

  4. You do sound cute on the phone, J. Not that you’re not cute in person, I’m just sayin’.

    Oh yeah, Sunday. Look, Beth, I would sleep in, at least until 10 o’clock. I know how you feel, really, about not wanting to waste your time sleeping, however, setting a realistic time to get up without wasting the whole day is a good compromise.

  5. It’s Tuesday. Are you up yet?

Leave a Reply

 
