Giving thanks

Instead of giving thanks for the things I have now, my friend Bill made an interesting remark, and that is to find one thing that I’m thankful for this year that I didn’t have last year.  I’ve had 12 hours to think about it and couldn’t find one at all.  I mean, I’m thankful for having a wonderful family, great friends, a paying job, a somewhat working car, and relatively good health.  But I had all that last year.  What didn’t I have last year that I could be thankful for this year??  I just couldn’t think of any!

But I woke up bright and early this morning and found that one thing!  Last year I didn’t have 10 pounds on me!!!  I’ve lost 10 whole pounds in two months!!!  Yay for me!!

Now, some of you may not think that’s a whole lot but I’ve been gaining weight all year long.  It took a lot of effort for me to even stop the weight gain and I owe it all to my best friend Nina. 

Two months ago we made a pact to work together as a team to lose 10 pounds by the end of the year.  We figure 10 pounds is a good goal considering our lifestyle (which includes random celebrations of food and alcohol).  Nina’s plan was to start out by walking for an hour at our local park three days a week, then to start speed walking, then to jogging, and then to full-blown running.   Man, I thought I was going to die during those first few days.  I had been so out of shape that I kept getting shin splints just from walking. 

But the days turned into weeks and my body got used to the workout to the point where it’s not complaining so much anymore!  On the rest days I feel invigorated and I just loved having a good night’s sleep after our walk/jog/run. 

I have to say, Nina was a real trooper for putting up with me.  She never got tired of me complaining.  Those first few days, I complained about everything, my shins, my back, my knees. Everything hurt so much,  my eyelashes were in pain! 

When she’d try to push me to run just a little bit further, she wouldn’t hear, “I can’t.”  And when I couldn’t keep up with her anymore, she’d slow down and become my personal cheerleader.  “C’mon, Beth, just a little bit further!  You can DO it!”  I wanted to slap her at first, I hated the way she kept punishing me, the same way our trainers did at the gym.  But here I am, 10 pounds lighter and for that, I am so thankful to have her as my best friend.  I knew she was good for something.

So, what’re you folks thankful for this year that you weren’t last year?

~ by Binibining Beth on November 26, 2008.

4 Responses to “Giving thanks”

  1. This one’s easy for me. We have far more patients at the clinic this year than we did last year. And for that I am humbly thankful.

  2. Losing weight and making exercise part of your habit is hard to do — so kudos to you!

    Hmmm, one thing I have this year that I didn’t have last year… sleep. Last year’s November/December I dubbed insomnia months. Good lord, but I love to sleep!

  3. “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy.” – Legally Blond
    Yep, it’s definitely the endorphins talking. Anyway, glad I could be an official pain in the a$$. It was entertaining to see you suppress your urge to smack me when I kept pushing you to run another 10 more steps. Never mind, we’ll be hitting the track as soon as the weather gets better… a whole lotta ballgame now.

  4. I’m thankful that wasn’t me you backed into. Oh with your car, I mean YOU could back into me anytime just not with a car.

Leave a Reply

 
