Wednesday bump day

accidentOn my way to work this moring, I got into an accident.  In fact, I was a mere quarter of a mile away from my office when it happened. 

The car in front of me slowed to a stop so that he could let a pedestrian cross the street at a designated crosswalk.  In the town where I work, pedestrians rule the road.  Even if there were no signs requiring drivers to do so, pedestrians have the right of way all the time.

I saw the pedestrian and his dogs and knew that the car in front of me had to stop, so I slowed to a stop as well.  The car behind me was just as smart and followed suit.  Unfortunately, the mini-van behind the car behind me wasn’t as smart and proceeded to ram her mini-van to the car behind me, which then hit me and no matter how hard I applied the brakes, I hit the car in front of me.  A four car crash all because some woman wasn’t paying attention. 

Luckily, no one was hurt.  I had a huge headache for the rest of the morning, but that could also be because of yesterday’s migraine.  Other than that, I’m fine. 

The cop arrived, took all of our information and all four drivers had to wait till he was done.  While waiting, I took everyone’s contact information and got a chance to talk to the other drivers.  The car in front of me was a very nice guy who had minimal damage to his car, mostly scratches on his rear bumper.  The guy who hit me was a youngish guy who seemed very jittery.  And the woman in the mini-van was not at all talkative and seemed very very upset.  I tried to reassure her that everything was going to be okay and that none of us were all that mad at her for being a fucking moron.   But she was beyond comforting so I just left her alone. 

One by one, the cop gave us our driver’s license back and let us go.  I was the last one he spoke with.  He was a very big, intimidating officer.  If he had asked me to take the blame for the accident, I’m afraid I would’ve complied AND confessed to a couple of other vehicular transgressions.  But he was very nice, told me that the accident was clearly Mini-van’s fault and that the driver was cited for careless driving.   I think he tried to make me laugh, I can’t remember, he was VERY intimidating, looming over me.  Then he said, “Everything’s going to be alright, ma’am.  I hope you have a better day.”

So, I tried to have a better day, focusing on the fact that I am unhurt and it’s only a car and my insurance is going to take care of it.  Speaking of insurance, I got a letter from my lawyer the other day, informing me that the lawsuit from an accident two years ago has been closed.  I guess they settled it out of court.  So, yay for me, but good Lord, not even a week after a lawsuit for a previous accident has been closed, I get into another accident!

I can’t imagine how much worse my accidents would’ve been if my car wasn’t blessed.  Oh, didn’t you know that my car is a Holy Vehicle?  The day after I bought my car, my Mom asked a local Filipino priest to bless my car.  We went to our church and the priest sprayed my car and myself with holy water.  He then prayed to God to let no harm come to me or anyone around me while I’m driving, cause God knows I need all the help I can get!

~ by Binibining Beth on November 19, 2008.

5 Responses to “Wednesday bump day”

  1. That is really too bad. Car accidents suck. And we see enough of them. We have a young man coming into the clinic tomorrow who was hit by a fugitive in a high speed chase where the fugitive died. That one is a little out of the ordinary though.

  2. I was just thinking tonight about how pedestrians in the OC are usually somewhat timid compared to SFO pedestrians. Then I wondered to myself, how many pedestrians get hit and, if not hit, how many accidents happen as a result of pedestrians on the East Coast, because everyone knows peddies are crazy over there.

    I’m so glad you’re OK. Sucks about your car, though.

  3. So, how fast were you going when you backed into that other car?

  4. Sorry about your wreck, glad you’re okay and especially glad the lawsuit is settled…I know you were stressing about that.

  5. I’m gonna have to go with the trashman… just how fast were you going backwards?

Leave a Reply

 
