My two worthless cents

I really don’t like the way people have been using the phrase “The Taxpayer’s Money” these past two days.  As in, using the taxpayer’s money to bailout Wall Street, and so on.  Well, I’ll tell you something, the “taxpayer” is not just you and I, Mr. and Miss Average Joe, it’s also Mr. and Miss Multi-Million Dollar CEO.

Maybe it’s just the naive accountant in me, but these wealthy, greedy corporate execs pay their share of taxes the same way you and I do.  Well, almost the same way.  My boss always said the tax system is a profit-sharing system, if you make a profit, you have to share.  Think about it, if everybody in this country just had the income of Average Joe, we wouldn’t have enough in the Treasury to keep this country running.  But the fact is, these bastards pay the bulk of this country’s income taxes. 

I’ve had clients who’s Federal withholding on their paychecks for an entire year are enough to buy a house.  Hell, I couldn’t even dream of earning that kind of money, much less handing it over to the government. 

Not saying that that makes it right for them to be so damn greedy about it, I’m just saying that I don’t like it when people use the phrase, “The Taxpayer’s Money” as if it’s some sort of ginormous piggybank that these wealthy execs aren’t entitled to.  It’s their money too.

~ by Binibining Beth on September 30, 2008.

One Response to “My two worthless cents”

  1. I hate that they keep saying “700 billion dollars” which makes it sound so enormous.

    If they’d say, “only seven-tenths of a trillion” it wouldn’t be such a big deal.

Leave a Reply

 
