I ♥ birthday parties

Yesterday we celebrated my best friend’s 30th birthday.  Yeap, the big 3-0.  Why, God, why?!?!?!!!!

Anyway, I got to my best friend’s place early, wondering what’s in store for the night.  Nina greeted me at the door with, “I’m doing 30 shots!  Whooo!”

Oh boy.

So, of course, being the best friend she’s always wanted, I made a bet that she won’t make it past 5 shots.  That was before I realized what kind of shots they were fixing her.  It was either a slippery or a buttery nipple, both of which are not very good shot drinks, in this lush’s opinion.  Apart from a white Russian, I’m not a fan of milk-based drinks because I think they are so high school.  But, since they didn’t have Patron handy, we had to settle for what they had in stock.  And owing to its weak nature, I knew Nina would have five buttery nipples licked in no time.  (Someone somewhere out there is doing a Google search right now and is going to be mighty disappointed when they run into my blog).

But, an hour after I got to the party, Nina had drank only 10 shots.  So, to speed things up, someone whipped out the karaoke machine.  Of course, everyone was a little bashful with the mic and no one wanted to go first, or go at all.  Some genius yelled out, “Everytime someone scores a 95 or higher on each song, Nina has to do 5 shots!”

It got a little loud and crazy after that.  Everyone was trying to yell into the mic so that we could get a high score, never mind hitting the right key or tempo.  I don’t rightly recall what happened afterwards. No, not because I was drunk.  I myself had imbibed one drink only.  One shot, one beer and one glass of sangria. 

Obviously, I lost my bet.  I don’t remember what I have to do, but I’m hoping Nina’s drunken antics have wiped her memory of that bet completely.  Sad to say, Nina never made 30 shots.  Valiantly, she drank 23 shots before passing out.  In the 12 years I’ve known her, I’ve never seen her get sick or pass out from drinking too much.  It was great!  After all the times she’s laughed at me for drinking too much, it’s about damn time she stumbled a mile in my shoes!

But don’t worry, she’s fine this morning, even had enough energy to go to the Jets game. 

I have one more friend who’ll be celebrating her 30th birthday and I suggested we take her to a male revue.  Ever the pervert, Tinyhands suggested I take her to a female strip bar instead.  Begrudgingly, I agreed that that’d be a better idea.  So stay tuned for that birthday party.

~ by Binibining Beth on September 28, 2008.

4 Responses to “I ♥ birthday parties”

  1. Begrudgingly? You were very enthusiastic on the phone, or am I to believe that you’re good at faking enthusiasm?

  2. i like to think i have a well conditioned liver that can take almost anything. except 30 shots. if i tried that, my liver would leave my body – grow a face, arms, and hands, slap me and say “NO”

  3. Strippers and male revues are a cliche… THINK BURLESQUE!!! WAAAAY more entertaining!!

    I turn 30 in 10 months! LET THE PLANNING BEGIN!!

  4. I am never ever doing that again….mainly because I don’t think I’ll be able to survive it. It was definitely a good way to say goodbye to my tenties…err twnentees…err..twenties….sorry residual hangover….
    And by the way, I did remember the bet. I just choose not to remember it because that’s just how awesome I am. ha ha ha

Leave a Reply

 
