It’s official

I am old and no longer fun to hang out with.

While other kids my age are getting psyched about Friday night, texting friends and figuring out where to meet and who’s going where to celebrate the end of the work week, I’m getting psyched about going home and finding out if the latest dvd on my Netflix queue has arrived.

While 30-somethings are cultivating hobbies in photography, writing, travelling, hiking and such, I’m learning to quilt.

I prefer curling up in bed with a good book than going out and finding someone to curl up in bed with. 

I can no longer pull off outfits that I was wearing five years ago.

I complained of the ruckus some teenagers were making outside my office by shaking my fist at them.

When asked what I like to do for fun, I opened my mouth to reply but couldn’t come up with any.  My reply was stymied.

I use words like stymied.  Probably incorrectly.  I just like the word.

I bought a 65cm balance ball to work on my core, only to fall over backwards on the ball and gave myself a backache.

I laughed during the movie “Semi-Pro.”

I can’t remember the last time I giggled when someone said duty.

I’m beginning to forget things.

The words “aging gracefully” have already been used on me. 

Sadly, I’m okay with all of this.  Maybe I’ll feel differently in ten years, when I’m 40. 

Oiy.

~ by Binibining Beth on August 22, 2008.

5 Responses to “It’s official”

  1. Time to research retirement communities.

  2. I think I’ve always been old. All that stuff is stuff I’ve been doing since I was a teenager.
    The trick is, I think, picking your “young” days. Choosing when to expend your energy.

  3. HA You said duty.

  4. *giggle* duty.

    Tired of Phelps? Tired of seeing those rippling pectorals? Girl, I’m almost FORTY, and I can’t get anough of looking at that hunka young meat. Yum.

  5. I think you’re looking at this all wrong… Getting older is getting better… To quote the Indigo Girls, “I’ve seen the shadows of so many people trying on the treasures of youth – a road that fancy and fast ends in a fatal crash and I’m glad we got off…” 🙂 I like being young when I was young… Now I’m enjoying being older when I’m older.

Leave a Reply

 
