With their tanks and their bombs, and their bombs and their guns

In the monster movie genre, zombies are my favorite. Vampires? They’re not real. Werewolves? Puh-lease, they’re just like rabid dogs, not at all scary. Mummies are kind of cool, but have you ever heard of a mummy in North America? Zombies, on the other hand, can be anywhere! Besides what could be scarier than humans coming back to life? Even worse, humans coming back to life with one sole purpose, to eat us alive!

I just finished “The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection From the Living Dead” by Max Brooks. Apart from the many useful survival tips and historical facts I absorbed from this guide, it also confirmed that which I already knew…if a zombie outbreak were to ever occur, I am seriously fucked.

More than likely, I’d freeze up and completely forget all my survival instincts. Or I’d do something foolhardy like grab a gun and start shooting at their chest, which, if you read the guide, is about as effective as throwing marshmallows at them, and that is really going to exacerbate things.

Anyway, armed with zombie survival knowledge, I can sleep better at night knowing I can protect myself and my family. Now, if only they had a survival guide for poltergeists.

~ by Binibining Beth on August 6, 2008.

3 Responses to “With their tanks and their bombs, and their bombs and their guns”

  1. What does exacerbate mean?

  2. And of course you’ve ordered Brooks’ other book, World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War.

  3. I haven’t read that one, but I read World War Z.

    Some of it is brilliant.

    btw… stop using the Zed word!

Leave a Reply

 
