Sunday storm

I was spending a lazy Sunday afternoon cleaning up my filing cabinet, getting ready for the deposition this Tuesday, when I started hearing thunder outside.  I thought nothing of it since the weather men actually got it right this time with their thunderstorm forecast.  I went back to my filing when I thought I heard someone throw a rock at my window.  I peeked out the window and, of course, saw no one outside.  The window in my bedroom overlooks my neighbor’s neat backyard, a backyard that my neighbor hardly ever uses.  He never barbecues in that yard, he doesn’t even have outdoor furniture.  He doesn’t hang out to admire his yard work or wonder if today would be the day I forget to close the blinds while I change. 

I ignored the noise, but just as I turned around, I heard several other taps on my window.  And that’s when I saw it – ice on my windowsill.  A second later, several other chunks of ice fell and the next thing I know, it’s raining ice! 

It may not be unheard of to have hail during the first official weekend of the summer, but this hail storm only lasted about 30 minutes and as soon as it was over, the sun shone so brightly and the sky cleared up so quickly, that I thought it was some sign of the apocalypse.  But after I while, I realized that the horsemen weren’t coming, so I went back to my filing and turned on the tv.  And wouldn’t you know it, they’re showing “Ghostbusters.” 

What a perfect way to end my first summer weekend!

~ by Binibining Beth on June 22, 2008.

3 Responses to “Sunday storm”

  1. For a second there I thought you had recorded the entire 30 minutes of it! Dude, you totally had weather! 🙂 And I never fail to be amazed the sheer size of the back yards in other parts of the country. Because my back yard is so teensy. Yes, yes, I have yard envy.

  2. OMG! We had a hailstorm yesterday too! It hailed so hard north of here that they had to bring out the snowplows to clear the roads! In June!

  3. That video is craaazy! Not quite Britney Spears crazy but crazy nevertheless…

Leave a Reply

 
