Humuhumunukunukuapua’a

Arrived yesterday afternoon after a long and exhausting flight from Kona, Hawai’i.  Took the day off to get my digestive system back to Eastern standards.  We left Kona on a beautiful, sunny Saturday, as it always is in Kona, with temperatures around 82 degrees.  Arrived in Newark on a dark, gloomy Sunday, as it always is in freakin’ Joisey, with temperatures around 28 degrees and 2 inches of snow on the ground.  You can just imagine how thrilled I was to be home. 

We’ve got tons of pictures and videos that I wish I could share with you all, but there’s just too much to show all at once.  I’ll have to do it little by little.  But even if I had all the time in the world to go over all the pictures with you, fact of the matter is, none of them did any justice to just how beautiful Hawai’i is.  Believe me, Tinyhands and I tried  to capture some of its beauty and at our best, we only managed to get some postcard-worthy scenes.  But you folks are missing out on the fresh air, the sounds coming from the ocean, the warmth of the sun, and the scents coming from gorgeous flowers and exotic fruits surrounding us.

This was the most amazing, the most unforgettable trip I’ve ever been on.  Not only did I have so much fun, I also learned a lot about Hawai’i, its culture, its history and its people.  I arrived in Hawai’i struggling, like most first-timers do, with their language.  A native once said, “We only have five vowels.  We just like to use them a lot.”   The title of this post looks frightening, doesn’t it?  Humuhumunukunukuapua’a is the state fish, in English, it’s the Picasso triggerfish.  By the end of our third day in Kona, I had mastered the word.  It’s easier than you think.  Humu (hoo-moo) humu (hoo-moo) nuku (noo-koo) nuku (noo-koo) apu (ah-poo) a’a (ah-ah).   See?  Doesn’t that just roll off your tongue?  For an immature person like me, being able to say “I love eating pupu” and not be disgusted by it is great!   And Tinyhands enjoyed visiting such arousing places like Waikiki and Puu Nani. 

Anyway, it’ll take a few days before I get to tell you some of the things we did, but in the meantime, click here to see a video of the first luau we attended.  You’ll have to forgive the quality of the videos, my camera kept dying on me.

Mahalo!

~ by Binibining Beth on December 3, 2007.

2 Responses to “Humuhumunukunukuapua’a”

  1. Welcome home. There’s nothing like Hawaii, is there. 🙂

    I love the place. Never been to Kona, but been to Kauai, Oahu and Maui. Love all three islands.

    (happy sigh) I’m so glad you had a wonderful time. Now you have to digest how wonderful it was and regurgitate it for us. 🙂

  2. So, no deadly encounters with cockroaches? Glad you had a great time ! Perhaps you’ll inspire me to try it out. Welcome Home!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
