The heart in the middle

After a long, rough flight through some very nasty weather, I made it home from Houston to Newark past midnight on Sunday.  The “throwers” managed to screw up the bags by distributing them to two different carousels at the airport.  I had to run between two carousels to find my bags, which I eventually did after nearly 2 hours.  As soon as I got home, I went to sleep and didn’t get out of bed till after 9am, which of course meant I was late for work.  Not wishing to appear too late, jet lagged and uber-cranky, I decided to call in “sick.”   

But it was pouring all day on Monday and by late afternoon, I was severely depressed.  I wanted to snap out of it, so I went to watch a movie with my Mom and we caught a matinee show of “Waitress.” Go see this movie if you can.  It lifted my spirits and inspired me to bake. 

Now, if you didn’t already know, I’m not much of a cook, I’m even worse at baking.  But I was inspired by the movie and I didn’t want to do it any injustice, so I decided to make a pie from scratch.  No pre-made pie crusts or pie fillings.  Between making the pie crusts with my own bare hands, rolling them out, making little heart cut-outs, cleaning over 5 cups of fresh blueberries, tearing off stems and picking off the smooshed berries and making sure I didn’t make too much of a mess, it took me over 4 hours to make.

I wanted to make a pie from the heart. I settled for a pie with lots of hearts in the middle. I call it my “I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry Blueberry Pie.”

 

~ by Binibining Beth on June 6, 2007.

11 Responses to “The heart in the middle”

  1. Aww, you’re just like a non-annoying version of Rachel Ray (whose FHM photos are just wrong. seriously, I couldn’t sleep). Or maybe a Filipino Giada? Mmm, pie.

  2. hot sex AND pie???

    that tiny is one lucky boy.

  3. That is one lovely pie, darlin’. I mean, lovely. I hope it tasted as good as it looks. Indeed, TH is a lucky man.

  4. I’m glad you two ladies acknowledge the tiny’s luckiness. Notice how he’s still lusting over that annoying skank Giada? On MY blog, no less.

    😀

  5. Skank? Oh please, you said she had nice boobies and all I did was agree with you. Let it go.

  6. Giada is HOT! I love my Fridays off from work so I can watch Everyday Italian at 9:00 am. Mmm, Giada.

    And I love how you kept in tune with the movie by naming your pie. I saw Waitress a few weeks ago and loved it.

  7. WOW! I’m impressed! I don’t bake (unless I have to). You almost inspired me to do so today. But I’m kind of busy, so maybe I’ll just eat pie instead. Yeah, that sounds like much more fun!

  8. Giada? That long-necked freak of nature? Please… Rachel Ray would kick her skinny ass with one hand tied behind her back. Hmm… sounds like an idea for Celebrity Death Match. And the best part is I hate both of them!

  9. Well Giada does ham it up a bit … she let’s the ladies out to party (fun bags) then intentionally starts wisking her batter mix to get them giggling … hmmm that’s pretty hot 🙂

    Take care kid

  10. I love blueberry pie.
    and I love Giada.
    At my old job, we used to watch her show during lunch, which made whatever we were eating look as unappetizing as, well, as watching Rachel Ray talk.

  11. I ♥ blueberries.
    I don’t know who Giada is.
    But I ♥ blueberries.

Leave a Reply

 
