It’s the most wonderful time of the year

Just got back from the airport. Dropped off Tinyhands at the security check and I’m afraid I embarrassed him by making a scene. Begged him to stay, and when that didn’t work, I started to cry like a big baby. Not the ladylike tears of a grown woman, oh no, not this graceful flower. I was hiccuping, hyperventilating, snot-dripping-down-my-nose bawling. Not even his assurances of “we’ll see each other again” could appease me.

He eventually had to have a couple of security people pull me away from him and I reluctantly let them. We said goodbye and I started to walk back to my car. When I got inside, I told myself to get a grip. I took a couple of deep breaths and turned on the radio. And what should be playing? All I want for Christmas is you…..

Big, messy tears started pouring out even before I could pull out my hanky. By the time I made it to the ticket booths to pay for parking, my hanky was soaking wet. The ticket booth attendant asked me if I was okay, and in between hiccups, I said, “Uh huh.”

Sometime this week I’ll try to blog about my week with The Tiny, but right now, I have to do a load of laundry and wash my tear-soaked hanky. It doesn’t help that I’m also watching “Titanic” right now.

TinyBeth

~ by Binibining Beth on December 10, 2006.

15 Responses to “It’s the most wonderful time of the year”

  1. Awww, sweet, sweet, girl.

  2. Oh sweetie.

  3. Okay, before I get any more text messages, IM’S, emails or phone calls, let me clarify: I am just really, really sad but I am not suicidal, okay??

    But thank you for checking up on me! I appreciate it. I’ll be okay. Thanks!

  4. What she didn’t tell you was that since we were making such a big deal, security thought we were saying goodbye forever as if I were a suicide bomber. They pulled me aside, strip-searched and interrogated me for hours. There was talk of sending me to Guantanamo, but I steadfastly refused their attempts to coerce a confession. With my 6-inch replica Statue of Liberty in one hand and waving my souvenir subway map in the other I explained the real reason for the tears: She gave me hot nuts. “HOT NUTS!” I exclaimed, over and over, like some halfwitted homeless man on the uptown NRW line.

    Eventually, one of the original security guards admitted that he had seen the beautiful girl I had to leave behind and understood my grief. As I retold the story of a wonderful week in the Big Apple, there wasn’t a dry eye to be found in Interrogation Room B. They apologized and, in the spirit of the holidays, I accepted. We agreed to keep in touch and I know they, like you all, are eagerly waiting for me to upload my pictures. Soon, my dears, be patient.

  5. Looks like y’all had a great time. Happy memories.

  6. I’m glad you both had such a good time. Can’t wait to see you both together again.

  7. Awwwww.

    (sigh)

    Awwww.

  8. *sniff* Awwwww… *HUGS* I don’t know what else to say so I’m just gonna go cry and hiccup now.

  9. [i]Tiny I want you to paint me wearing this…wearing ONLY this[/i}

  10. Tiny, I want you to paint me wearing this….wearing ONLY this

    That’s better.

  11. Aw ya big sap.

  12. this is all too sweet for me to throw in my typical mean comment. so as a christmas gift ( to BETH, not th ( snicker ) ) i’ll let it go.

    i do think it’s fantastic that y’all had a great time …. you kids 😀

  13. Actually, the people in interrogation room B called me and I had to confirm that tiny is in fact a ninja assassin in training. He’ll be hunting for bin Laden as soon as he graduates. He was sent up north for cold weather training.

    His southern butt is so green.

  14. I know traffic to and from the airport is bad during the Christmas seasonbut, jeez, this is ridiculous.

  15. Beth and TH are together again… in Guantanamo Bay.

Leave a Reply

 
