Scared stupid

The wind outside is gusting at about 60mph, effectively delaying Tinyhands’ flight to Newark. It’s a very warm 64 degrees outside, so I opened some of the windows in my apartment to let in some cool, fresh air. I’ve been busy running around, cleaning every nook and cranny in our place, making sure it is up to Tinyhands’ impeccable standards.

I was doing the dishes when I suddenly heard a loud, howling wind outside followed by two doors slamming shut. With my hands submerged in soap water, I did my best to rotate my head to check what was going on behind me when I suddenly saw something white float past my ears!

I jumped, made a little “eep!” and grabbed the first thing my hands felt in the sink. With a swift and graceful movement, I turned around, right hand outstretched, ready to kill the mystery white figure with………a spatula.

I saw nothing at first till I looked down and saw a piece of paper resting at my feet. Silly, Beth, it was only a piece of paper! I breathed a sigh of relief and turned back to continue what I was doing.

But the damage was done, my nerves are shot, and I continued to do the dishes with my head turned around, checking to make sure no one would dare sneak up behind me. I somehow managed to finish doing the dishes, but I ain’t fucking drying them. I’m staying in my room where it’s nice and bright and I have the internet to keep me company till Tinyhands arrives.

~ by Binibining Beth on December 1, 2006.

6 Responses to “Scared stupid”

  1. I’m so glad Tinyhands gets to see the Christmas decorations and feel the frigidness.

  2. er…of the weather that is.

  3. I’ll shut up now.

  4. WUSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. 😆 at Zelda.

    All I can say is, you sure know how to scare yourself silly.

    Didn’t you just tell us how you scared yourself at the office? Now at home? What’s next?

  6. Tiny says,
    “Despite the psychosis, I’m impressed with how clean the place is. She even vacuumed the rats!”

Leave a Reply

 
