Class of 1996

As some of you know, I went to high school in Las Vegas. Our 10-year high school reunion is next Saturday, October 14th at the Venetian. I was very excited to get the invitation for it but it took me a very long time to make a decision about it. There were so many things I had to think about, like, who should I bring with me, where should I stay, how much time off can I take for this trip, what can I talk about with these old classmates of mine who didn’t bother to keep in touch with me over these last few years, how much is my budget for the whole weekend, yadda yadda yadda?

A huge part of me really wanted to go because a) it’s in Vegas, baby! b) it would be nice to catch up on maybe 4 or 5 people that I actually called friends back then c) I’d love to see my crushes and find out if I can finally work up the nerve to talk to them and d) did I mention it was in Vegas?!

But for me to fly out to Vegas for a weekend to catch up with these so-called friends for maybe 3 or 4 hours at a fancy nightclub did not seem like it was worth the vacation packages Expedia, Travelocity and whatnot were offering. That and I had to worry about my date too, who I’m sure would’ve been bored to death pretending to care about what we crazy kids were up to ten years ago. Then there’s also the problem of how short this trip would be. A weekend, even an extended one, is just not long enough. It’s been nearly 5 years since I’ve been back to Vegas and I need more time to properly enjoy my homecoming.

So, with a sad, yet resolved heart, I sent my regrets that I was not going to attend the reunion. I figure, when I do make it back to Vegas, I should be able to hook up with a couple of my old classmates and it’d be in a more relaxed atmosphere than a noisy nightclub. Plus I’d be able to spend more time doing things that I want to do at my own pace and, more importantly, at my own price.

To the class of 1996, I hope you have a blast at the reunion! I hope you have all grown up to realize that what really matters in life is not that you got the highest grades in each test, that you were seen with the most popular kids, that you were able to find a date for the Homecoming dance. I hope y’all have grown to realize that what really matters is that you have found out what it is that would make you truly happy. I haven’t found that out for myself, but I think I’m getting there.

Haloscan Commens – 6

~ by Binibining Beth on October 6, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
