More than a woman

Lately, a lot of nosy, so-called friends are getting frustrated with my single-dom because they think I’m a great catch and shouldn’t be spending her Saturday nights at home alone. I’m flattered that they think I’m a great catch (which, by the way, is a phrase worthy of its own rant next week), but annoyed that they’re not more understanding.

I was on the phone with one particularly cocky friend a couple of days ago, and he got really snippy with all the reasons I was giving him for being single right now. Annoyed as I was that he had the cohones to call me chicken, it did occur to me that he’s right. Oh lord, the world’s coming to an end!

I have no real excuse to be staying inside my shell. You know, part of the reason why I love my blog so much is because it lets me be who I really am without fear of being rejected. My personality’s already out there for you to either love or hate. And judging from the number of people who stop by here to show me their love every single day, I can’t be all that bad.

But I am afraid. I’m a wuss. I run and hide from every opportunity of meeting new people. In fact, my date tonight*? I have Nina to thank for that! If Nina hadn’t dragged me so much to all her networking/happy hour crap, I would never have made a new friend.

But tonight, I’ve decided to do something drastic. I’ve run out of excuses and it’s high time I grew up! No longer am I the awkward, shy and geeky girl with thick glasses in high school who couldn’t get a date to the prom. I’m approaching 30, damn it! And I’ve sat on my ass for far too long, waiting for guys to find me.

Tonight, I plan on getting to the restaurant early, meet up with my old college friends, Jose and Margarita, and make every effort to charm at least one guy. Not just talk to them, but actually win them over. Whether or not I get something out of it is irrelevant. Tonight, I just need to know that I’m not chicken. I need to know if I will ever have the nerve to walk into a room, check out the guys, find a guy to oggle, walk on over and start talking to him. I want to be able to say that I did more than just try, I actually did it! Cause like my great mentor said, “Do or do not, there is no try.”

Plus, I need to be able to come home and send a text message to my so-called friend and say, “Call me chicken again and I’ll have your hide, you gore-bellied codpiece!”

Takes deep breath.

Well, do you guys think I can do it?

*Ps. My hot date is a girl, by the way. I figure, if coming out of my shell doesn’t work tonight with a guy, I might as well come out of the closet!

Kidding! I’m kidding!

Not that there’s anything wrong with being a lesbian, but too much do I enjoy the……..okay, I’m not going to finish that sentence.

Have a great weekend, folks!

Haloscan comments – 6

~ by Binibining Beth on July 21, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
