Seventy times seven

How many times can you forgive someone? How much bullshit can you take? How far will you let someone push you, take advantage of you, or take you for granted?What’re unforgivable offenses? Cheating on someone? Well, I’ve forgiven Danny for cheating on me, even though he didn’t ask for it. Telling a lie to get what you want? I’m sure karma’s got my back on this one, so I really can’t be so vindictive as to hold a grudge, now can I? Calling out someone else’s name in a moment of passion? I call out God’s name all the time, which, one would think, would be more unpardonable. Besides, I can’t be casting stones on drunk people who can’t remember who they’re with, or any other sinner for that matter, simply because I’m not holier than thou.

Truth is, I believe no sin is unforgivable if the sinner makes amends and seeks redemption.

In case you couldn’t tell, I am a very forgiving person, almost to a fault. I know that because I’m stupid. I’ve forgiven people who didn’t ask for it or deserve it. And I don’t really know why. At first I thought it was my Catholic upbringing that has made me so screwy, but then I’m not much of a Catholic to begin with, so that can’t be it. Then I thought about how life is too short to hold on to hate, hurt and disappointment brought on by someone’s transgression. But then where would my principles lie if I went around forgiving every schmuck who thought they could get away with it? So it must be because I’m stupid. Yeah, that has to be it.

But today, I am not in a forgiving mood. And if I were you, I’d be very afraid.

Haloscan comments – 2

~ by Binibining Beth on July 12, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
