Do you really want to hurt me? Do you really want to make me cry?

My buddy (I use that term reluctantly) Bill pointed out a while ago that comments on my blog have a tendency of being a veritable love-fest at times, and that even when someone disagrees with me, they do it jokingly. So it got me wondering, are y’all afraid to offend li’l ol’ me?

I’m beginning to think Grace is the only person here who really likes me because of the way she enjoys poking fun at me and criticizing me. The way I see it, if you really like someone, if you really want to be a good friend, then you won’t be afraid to tell them they’re wrong sometimes. Like my sisters, who make it a point to tell me I’m wrong all the time, and that’s cause they love me (????).

I’m not saying I’d want all of you to start disagreeing with me. I can imagine that it’s not easy to say something bad about me since I’m so dang loveable (and you know it!). But there must’ve been some point in time where you didn’t see eye to eye with me, where you wanted to tell me to shut up, where you wished I would just grow up already, where you wanted to grab me by the shoulders, give me a good shake and tell me to get a grip, where you got tired of my whining, crying, sniveling ways, or where you wished I stopped writing long sentences.

C’mon. I’m giving you this one chance to be totally, even brutally, honest with me. And before you hesitate, rest assured I won’t let others disagree with you. I think we all have known each other long enough to be able to comment as real friends would. Right?

Grace and Sammie, your comments will be limited to 100 words, capisce?

~ by Binibining Beth on April 24, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
