Intervention

How do you stop a friend from making a mistake?

Is there a way for me to make a friend do the right thing?

How do you subtly, but firmly tell them, without destroying the friendship, that they’re being stupid?

At what point does it become none of my business to interfere in their lives?

How do you bring it to their attention that their reckless disregard of Beth’s peace of mind is a felony punishable by roshambo?

Will a slap upside the head suffice? What about a shakabuku? (It’s a swift, spiritual kick to the head that alters your reality forever.)

Do I have any right, as a loving, caring, nosy friend to strap them down to a chair, while I go hire a wiseguy to take care of those people who are hurting my friends?

God knows I’m the last person to tell them what to do. I’ve made enough mistakes in my life and I didn’t let anyone stop me from doing them. But it is for that very reason that I am compelled to protect my friends from their own mistakes. Nothing wrong with that, right?

By the way, I’m talking about more than one friend here. You know who you are. I worry about you because I love you, you idiot! I just want to see you happy. And if you think what you’re doing now/what you’re going to be doing will make you happy, well, fuck me. But if I’m right and you become miserable because of this, forget the wiseguys, I’m going after those jerks myself. Then I’m coming back to growl and glare at you.

~ by Binibining Beth on March 30, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
