Inquiring minds want to know, what was 2005 like for you?

Credit goes to Karen who snatched it from Yankeebob.

1. What did you do in 2005 that you’d never done before?

Parasailing, jet skiing and snorkeling in Key West.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I had two resolutions in 2005, to let go and to stay focused. I failed miserably on both. For 2006, I only have one: to be more honest. I need to fool myself less and face the truth more. I think I’d have a better chance of dealing with whatever comes my way this year if I stop deluding myself.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Nope. Still waiting for my big sister to make me Auntie Beth.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My beloved Ben.

5. What countries did you visit?

Houston.

6. What would you like to have in 2006 that you lacked in 2005?

Seriously? A love life. Well, a good one anyway.

7. What date from 2005 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

April 15th. Do you really need me to tell you why??

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Surviving tax season.

9. What was your biggest failure?

This was my last year to try and pass the CPA exam. I now have to go back to school and try to reach the minimum required 150 college credits (I had graduated with 130) to even qualify to sit for the exam again.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Apart from hurting my ankle from falling down the stairs, nope, can’t say I did.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

This coat. Very chic, very expensive, I love it!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Sammie, for being so dang committed to her gym membership.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Mine, for wasting money on gym membership.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Repairs and maintenance for my car.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

The bachelorette party to Key West with 7 chicas from Queens.

16. What song will always remind you of 2005?

Speed of Sound by Coldplay.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

Definitely sadder.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

More trips. In 2005, I went to DC/Baltimore, Houston, and Key West. In 2006, I want to visit California, Denver, Chicago, Boston, Baltimore and maybe squeeze in Vegas.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Eat! Well, eat less junk/fast food anyway.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

With family and we spent the day/weekend lounging about, watching movies, playing Karaoke Revolution.

21. How will you spend New Year’s?

With Nina and her family, drinking wine, Dr. Pepper shots and watching the Anchorman. Now who wants to go to the pants party?

22. Did you fall in love in 2005?

I think I was in-love once. Don’t remember his name. He was Brazilian, or Chinese, or something weird. I met him at the bathroom of K-mart and we made out for hours. Then we parted ways, never to see each other again.

23. How many one-night stands?

Does it count if I saw them again the following night?

Just kidding. None, of course. I’m not that type of girl.

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Family Guy.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

State of New Jersey – Division of Revenue. Damn you bastards, you made my after-tax season a living hell with your erroneous charges and misapplied credits and notices that freaked out our clients!

26. What was the best book you read?

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Ray LaMontagne and Michael Buble.

28. What did you want and get?

The Gift of Nothing.

29. What was your favorite CD of this year?

“Breakaway” by Kelly Clarkson. Now, before any of you get any ideas, I don’t watch American Idol. It just so happens that I actually do like a lot of her songs. And while I didn’t technically buy her album, I downloaded her songs far more than any other artist this year, followed only by Mariah Carey, so there!

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

For my 28th birthday I threw a little bowling bash, wherein I whipped up a couple of Rachel Ray’s infamous 30-minute meals (which is complete bullshit, btw) and went bowling afterwards.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Passing the CPA exam, and attending a ticker tape parade for our Yankees once more.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?

Layering. I’d wear short sleeved shirts over long sleeved shirts, a button down shirt under a sweater for that yuppie look, a tank top underneath a sweater, bright blue underwear over my blue tights, you still paying attention?

Good.

34. What kept you sane?

Coffee, coffee, coffee!

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Matt Damon.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

None whatsoever. I don’t touch the stuff.

37. Whom do you miss?

Bill. So much for keeping our pact of seeing each other at least once a year. I couldn’t make it to Denver, and even with all your bitching you couldn’t make it back to Jersey either.

38. Who was the best new person that you met?

I don’t know if this qualifies as meeting someone per se, but being able to chat with Leese was my favorite. Despite the challenge of emailing in Tagalog at work, it’s been a pleasure!

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2005:

Idiots outnumber us smart people and I can’t live under the assumption that a person who looks smart, actually is.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

Another day has almost come and gone
Can’t imagine what else could go wrong
Sometimes I’d like to hide away somewhere and lock the door
A single battle lost but not the war (’cause)

Tomorrow’s another day
And I’m thirsty anyway
So bring on the rain

It’s almost like the hard times circle ’round
A couple drops and they all start coming down
Yeah, I might feel defeated,
And I might hang my head
I might be barely breathing – but I’m not dead

Cause tomorrow’s another day
And I’m thirsty anyway
So bring on the rain!

– Jo Dee Messina

~ by Binibining Beth on January 2, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
