Someday at Christmas

Maybe because tomorrow is the 25th anniversary of John Lennon’s death and I’ve been hearing his song “Happy Christmas (War Is Over)” all day long that I am suddenly so aware of all the men and women we have fighting a pointless war thousands of miles away from their loved ones this holiday season.

That while I go about worrying if I can buy presents for everyone on my list, wondering if I’ll be getting coal this year instead of the brand new Lexus I’ve always wanted, there are men and women of all ages, colors and sizes wondering when they’ll be able to see the people that matter the most to them.

I don’t have very many political convictions, I just know that war is stupid, this one in Iraq even more so. My friend Lizza’s fiancee is finally coming home after a year’s service abroad, and I couldn’t be happier for Lizza. But how many more families are needlessly separated? How many children are missing their mami or papi right now? How many parents are praying for their children to be kept safe? And worse, how many tears have been shed, and must there be more?

I’m not saying they should be sent home just for the holidays. I’m saying they should be sent home, period.

I know it’s a cop out of writing my own thoughts, but this song just sums up all my hopes for this and all Christmases to come.

Someday at Christmas men won’t be boys
Playin with bombs like kids play with toys
One warm December our hearts will see
A world where men are free

Someday at Christmas there’ll be no wars
When we have learned what Christmas is for
When we have found what life’s really worth
There’ll be peace on earth

Someday all our dreams will come to be
Someday in a world where men are free
Maybe not in time for you and me
But someday at Christmastime

Someday at Christmas we’ll see a land
(Someday at Christmas)
With no hungry children, no empty hand
(Someday at Christmas)
One happy morning people will share
A world where people care

Someday at Christmas there’ll be no tears
(Someday at Christmas)
Where all men are equal and no men have fears
(Someday at Christmas)
One shining moment, one prayer away
From our world today

Someday all our dreams will come to be
Someday in a world where men are free
Maybe not in time for you and me
But Someday at Christmas time

Someday at Christmas men would not have failed
Hate will be gone and love will prevail
Someday in a world that we can start
With hope in every heart

Someday at Christmas….hmmmmmm….hmmmmmmm…..hmmmm

But someday at Christmas time
Someday at Christmas time!

~ by Binibining Beth on December 7, 2005.

Leave a comment