Christmas time is here

Don’t you just love this time of the year?? I can’t stand people who are grumpy about it. Not that I’m one of those people bouncing around spreading Christmas sunshine and wishing “God bless us, everyone” like I overdosed on caffeine, sugar and crack. You know how hard it is to spread cheer? It is exhausting! Especially when you’re surrounded by people who have found it easier to be bitchy, whiny, irritable……grown ups! There, I’ve said it!

C’mon, where’s the little child in you? Why are children the only ones who seem to remember what Christmas is all about? Don’t y’all remember that Christmas is the time to celebrate the birth of Santa Claus?

Most people I know who complain about the holidays relate it to the fact that they have a heck of a lot of shopping to do. I know it gets tough to have to shop around for the perfect present for your loved ones, or your not-so-loved ones. I know the more people you bump into on your shopping expeditions, the more likely you are to adopt their negative attitudes. But couldn’t you make an effort to be patient, at the very least? When someone bumps into you, steps on your toes, grabs the perfect present away from you, takes your parking spot, yells in your ear or whatever else you people complain about….do you think you could just step back for a bit, take a few deep breaths, and smile?

Would that be so hard?

Of course, it’s easy for me to say all this because I’m doing all my shopping online and I only have 5 or 6 people to shop for. 😀

Anyway, I hope y’all had a great Thanksgiving weekend. Mine went entirely too fast, though I got a lot done – bought a new tv, put up our Christmas tree, cooked 5lbs of meat for 2 trays of lasagna, ate enough food to feed a small village in Cebu, got one person off my Christmas shopping list, spent oodles of time with my Mom, and got plenty of rest and relaxation, which was my most favorite thing. Click on the picture below if you want to see more pictures of my weekend.

I’m trying my best not to get bummed out that the weekend’s over and it’s back to work tomorrow.

Must. Keep. Holiday. Cheer.

*Whew*

This is harder than I thought!

~ by Binibining Beth on November 27, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
