Let the rain fall down and wake my dreams

I woke up this morning to the sound of rain. I stretched my arms up above my head and looked outside my window. The sky was overcast, but somehow it didn’t feel gloomy.

I laid in bed for a few more minutes and enjoyed the soft sounds coming from outside. Days like these, you have to enjoy the rain. The neighbors are stuck indoors, no one’s outside using their leaf blowers to clean out the one leaf that dared to fall on their sidewalks and none of the kids are out making a ruckus. It was the kind of day that made you want to stay curled up in bed with a good book.

It was my kind of day.

It reminded me of younger days back in Manila. Simpler days. So naive was I that I used to believe windshield wipers were activated by the rain. Sitting in the back, I couldn’t see that my Mom controlled the wipers. All I knew, and I thought I was so clever for noticing it, was that the harder it poured the faster they went, like some kind of super-smart machine who just knew how to do its job well.

I remember how refreshing the rains were. My sisters, the kids in our neighborhood and I would run around in front of our house and would jump in the puddles to see who could make a bigger splash. Back then, I hated taking baths. So being able to run around in the rain was like taking a bath, only I had more fun and I didn’t have to take my clothes off.

When I was in school, I used to get so distracted in class, always looking outside the window and wanting to go play in the rain. But with our neat little Catholic school uniforms, I knew getting wet and dirty was far more trouble than it was worth. Most kids would daydream of frolicking out in the sun. I daydreamed of slipping and sliding on wet grass or jumping in puddles or just standing outside and letting the rain wash away the dirt on me.

I thought umbrellas were for wussies. I didn’t like to carry them around. So I was either completely dry and indoors or soaking wet and running amuck outside.

What I’d give to be able to do all of that again.

It’s near midnight right now and it hasn’t stopped raining. The wind’s gotten stronger and the temperature has dropped to a cool 57 degrees. I spent the day reading and writing and I had just finished watching the second part of the Godfather trilogy on dvd.

It’s been a good day.

~ by Binibining Beth on October 8, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
