Oh give me a beat boys and free my soul

I thought about the many songs that have been remade or remixed over the decades and realized that some artists will just never learn and should know when to leave well enough alone. So, here’s a list of what I thought should be used as examples for future generations of wannabe’s.

Keep in mind that this list does not cover every song ever remade/remixed. I’ve only listed the ones I can remember off the top of my head and the ones where I have heard both versions. Because otherwise this list would be incredibly biased, like it isn’t already. Feel free to disagree, agree, add, delete or ignore this list and make one of your own.

Acceptable:

  • Natalie Merchant’s One Fine Day originally by The Chiffons.

    The change of tempo was drastic, but so very effective. Well done, Natalie!

  • Alien Ant Farm’s Smooth Criminal originally by Michael Jackson.

    Way cool, very edgy, I like it a lot.

  • Sheryl Crow’s The First Cut Is The Deepest originally by Cat Stevens.

    I’ve only heard a little bit of the original, but I just like Sheryl’s version so much more.

  • No Doubt’s It’s My Life originally by Talk Talk

    The original wasn’t all that great to begin with, it had to be remade.

Well, it seems that’s all the acceptable remakes I can think of right now.

Unacceptable:

  • Madonna’s American Pie originally by Don Mclean.

    Madonna should not be allowed to remake any song, not even her own.

  • Frankie J’s More Than Words originally by Extreme.

    This was very painful to listen to. I LOVED this song. But this pre-pubescent dude thinks hitting as many notes as he can in the song is pleasant to the ears.

  • Puff Daddy’s remix of Every Breath You Take originally by Police.

    Gad, I was such an idiot to like this remix when it first came out. Sting, how can you sell out to Puff Diddy or Piff Doody or whatever the heck his name is.

  • Jessica Simpson’s These Boots Are Made For Walking originally by Nancy Sinatra.

    I must’ve been smoking something god-awful when my first reaction to this was, “Not bad, Jess.”

  • The Dixie Chick’s and Smashing Pumpkin’s Landslide originally by Fleetwood Mac.

    This song didn’t need to be remade, countrified and melancholized. Stevie Nicks should be the only one allowed to sing this song.

  • Britney Spears’ My Prerogative originally by Bobby Brown.

    Solid proof that just because you don’t need permission, make your own decision, doesn’t mean you should, you idiot.

  • En Vogue’s Yesterday originally by The Beatles.

    These funky divas changed all the tones to this song and it….just….sucks!!!

Songs so good no one can possibly ruin it: these songs had more than one version and no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t decide which was better. I’ll let you folks decide for yourself.

  • Joe Cocker and The Beatles – With a little help from my friends
  • James Taylor and Carole King – You’ve got a friend
  • Postal Service and Iron & Wine – Such great heights
  • Alison Krauss and Ronan Keating – When you say nothing at all
  • Celine Dion and Cindy Lauper – I drove all night
  • Mariah Carey and the Jackson Five –I’ll be there
  • Frankie Valli and Lauryn Hill – Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You
  • Dobie Gray and Uncle Kracker – Drift Away
~ by Binibining Beth on October 6, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
