100 Greatest Dance Songs

I am appalled, downright disgusted, outraged and stunned, stunned I tells ya, that “Dancing Queen” is number 97!!! And maybe it’s just the wine talking here, but who made Vh1 such dance music experts anyway?!?

Anyone else out there as outraged as I am? Surely I’m not the only one who thinks “Dancing Queen” should’ve been way higher than fucking “Macarena.” Hell, it shouldn’t even be in the same league! “Macarena” is an affront to anybody who can really dance! Any retard (my apologies to special needs children) can dance the Macarena, there’s no skill or grace required of it. And while I’m no Ginger Rogers, I sure as hell can shake my booty better than most people!

I’m sorry, but I’m stunned speechless here. Here I am trying to pack my bags for my trip to Key West this weekend, drinking some wine (some?!? Try half a bottle) to relieve some stress from work, watching Paula Abdul talk about what makes a great dance song, getting a good buzz going, when I learn about this atrocity!!

And I don’t see my all-time favorite Jacko song, “Rock with you.” That’s it, I’m filing a complaint.

In the meantime, who’s got good plans for this Labor Day Weekend? Did I mention I’m going to Key West? Yup yup yup! My old school friend, Kathryn, wanted to have her bachelorette party in Key West. Sweetheart that she is, she invited me along, even though I’m not part of the bridal party.

It’ll be 9 Filipina girls sharing one gorgeous suite at the Hyatt this weekend. I am so psyched!! And worried and nervous and anxious and all sorts of stomach-related gurgling I probably shouldn’t share on this blog.

Cause on the one hand, I’ll be spending time with some of the nicest girls I’ve ever had the pleasure to be with. But on the other, I don’t want to end up doing something too wild and too crazy (and too expensive). But on the other hand again (how many hands do you have, Beth?), it’s a once-in-a-lifetime trip to get away for a long weekend at one of the hottest places to be. But then, there’s a certain someone I’d like to be spending some time with this weekend also who can’t come with us, and who, I hate to admit it, I will actually miss. How can I not miss him? He makes outrageous claims like how he invented the question mark and the internet. That and I love hearing his voice.

Damn wine! It’s the wine talking, I swear!

I just spent the better part of the hour calling names to my little sister, Sammie. “You retaaahhded!”

“No, you retahhhded!”

I’m so pissed off about that! She doesn’t even know where that’s from and she’s using it against me! Indisputable proof that she is retaaaahded!

Anyway, after 4 grueling hours of figuring out what to wear and packing my stuff and drinking half a bottle of wine and amusing my little sister, I am all packed and almost ready to go! I just have to bear one more day at work and maybe some dinner with a certain someone, and then at the butt crack of dawn on Saturday, I will be en route to Key West, baby! Yeah!

“So kiss me, and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me
Hold me like you’ve never done before
Cause I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
I don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh, babe, I hate to go”

Make it a fantastic weekend, folks! Rain or shine, whether you stay at home or go and paint the town red, make the most out of it! I expect good posts when I come back Tuesday.

~ by Binibining Beth on September 1, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
