My top 10 favorite pictures

I had thought about the many ways I could do to celebrate my one year blog anniversary this weekend, like posting questionnaires to find out who’s been paying attention about my life, or questionnaires to get to know you great folks who keep coming back day after day, or highlighting my favorites and my not-so favorite posts. But that’s all been done before, and I just didn’t feel like putting that much effort into it. 😀

I had ordered these 10 pictures to be blown up into 5×7’s so I can make a sort of portfolio/collage of my favorite pictures taken from my very own digital camera. They came in the mail today and they turned out great. They are lame attempts at artsy fartsy photography, but they are my pride and joy . I love looking at them as much as I enjoyed taking them, and I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate my blog than by doing what makes me happy.

 

Taken on December 27, 2003, this is the beautiful “Angel of the Waters” atop Central Park’s famous Bethesda Fountain. She is definitely one of my favorite angels.

 

The one on the right, taken during the Gates exhibit, is the majestic Bow Bridge. I can’t even begin to count the number of movies filmed at this spot, the number of people getting wedding pictures, making marriage proposals or going for a romantic stroll through the park.

Also taken at the Gates exhibit, I had wondered how long it was going to take for me to be able to get a decent shot while staring at the sun without going blind. It took two shots, and I like the way this one turned out.

 

 

 

“The last leaf clings to the bough. Just one leaf, that’s all there is now. And my last hope live with that lonely leaf, lonely leaf. With the last leaf that clings to the bough.” The Cascades

 

 

I couldn’t help but imagine the poor child (or children) who were supposed to get these balloons. It made me sad just looking at it, but also thought how beautiful they looked stuck up there.

 

It never fails to amaze me how quiet this area of the park is no matter how packed Central Park gets. Shakespeare Garden is one of my favorite places to hide.

I couldn’t find any information on this big guy, sitting forlornly in front of Columbia University. I remember Jeanette’s poopy comment about this guy, and I just love that you can be looking at one thing this way until someone else says something about it and all of a sudden you see an entirely different object!

 

 

Liberation Monument, in Liberty State Park, stands to commemorate the victims of the Holocaust. It is a 20-ft statue of an American carrying a concentration camp prisoner to freedom.

 

 

“I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in Summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.”

Alfred Joyce Kilmer

 

You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.
I hope someday you will join us, and the world will live as one.

~ by Binibining Beth on July 26, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
