U.S.A. A-okay

I can’t believe the fourth of July weekend is here. Half the year is gone! I didn’t make any plans for this weekend because, well, because with my luck, nothing I planned would’ve gone the way I wanted it to go. So, why not just wing it? Although there is one thing I intend to do, and that’s to watch my new Brian Regan dvd! I can’t wait for that! If anyone cares to join me, you’re welcome to do so, it should be hilarious!

At the end of July last year, I started a blog, and my first post was about my trip to Boston with my friend Bill. Since then he has never failed to give me encouragement and praise for my blog. I thought it fitting that I return the favor and refer you to his long-awaited blog! Take a gander over to The Whole Year Inn and please give him a warm welcome to blogland. He’s got a lot to learn about the rules of behavior in blogland (like replying to a comment!), so be gentle with him, it’s his first time.

He’s your quintessential American boy next door; tall, good-looking, blonde hair, blue eyes, has good manners, is very much into sports, he went to your typical party college in the heart of America (Kansas), who likes to think he can beat me with movie trivias, has a soft spot for Billy Joel songs, who’s half Irish, half German, and who can’t speak a word in another language to save his life….yeap, you can’t get more American than this guy.

Don’t let the fact that he’s also an ex-boyfriend sway your opinion of him. Trust me, we were much better off as friends. He’s a good writer and I enjoy the countless hours we’d spend emailing each other all day at work. Whether it be sports, religion, movies or relationships, we always had good conversation, and that’s something I look for in all of my good friends.

I think what strikes me the most about my relationship with Bill is the stark contrast between my Filipino-ness and his American-ness (I know those aren’t real words, shut up), and yet despite that we hit it off like *snap!*. I used to get a huge kick out of telling my friends back home in Manila about my American boyfriend (well, actually ALL my boyfriends have been white American boys, but that’s a topic for another day). Yeah, I’m living the American dream alright….In America, first you get the sugar, then you get the power, then you get the women….err…never mind.

Anyway, it’s late and it’s going to be a long day on Friday. Have a wonderful Independence Day holiday, everybody! I’ll see y’all on the flip side!

~ by Binibining Beth on July 1, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
