Champagne, hummus, sangria and hotdogs….yum

Click here for all the pics of our trip.

I’m going to try to wrap up the rest of the trip since there are other things I’d like to write about.

Sunday – Hottest day of the year, so far, anyway. And what did we decide to do? Walk around The Mall. Yeap, let’s just fry ourselves in the heat while we enjoy the Smithsonian Folklife Festival. But we got to eat hummus and enjoy some great Latin music from a Puerto Rican band, so it was all good.

When we got back to our hotel, we were given a complimentary bottle of champagne (our hotel has champagne hour, but since we missed that and since we were their best guests, they gave us a bottle). So back to our room we went and chilled with the champagne.

Since we were pretty wiped out from walking around all day, we ended up just going out to dinner and just chilling out at a cafe for a few drinks. I’d mention the hottie we were chilling with (he plays in a band and he’s bald…not that I was thinking of another baldie) but since I don’t have a picture with him, I doubt any of you will believe me anyway.

Monday – we slept in, cause there’s no greater feeling than sleeping in on a Monday. We grabbed lunch at another great tapas bar, this time in downtown DC near Chinatown. Afterwards, we headed to Baltimore, towards Camden Yards.

Sam and I wore matching shirts to show our support for my Yankees against the O’s. Now, the last time I was in Camden Yards, the O’s were nowhere near the top, so no one was watching their games. Now, all of a sudden, they’re in the lead and they think they’re the shit, packing their stadiums with bandwagoners. I tell you whut, there were just as many O’s fans as Yankee fans at the stadium. Hell, the Yankee fans were more organized in their cheers than the O’s were.

And I hate, abso-freaking-lutely hate people who feel the need to put down the opposing team just so they can feel good about their own team. Everytime I’m at a different stadium to watch the Yanks, you hear people yelling out, “Yankees suck!”

Why don’t you try cheering for your own fucking team, huh? How is putting down one team showing support for your own? It bugs the crap out of me when people do that! Like fucking grow up! Do you think you’re setting a good example to the children around you by acting like belligerent assholes??? I think not! Way to teach sportsmanship to future generations of baseball fans, you jerks!!

Trash talk all you want, at least I can respect you for putting some thought into it. But going to stadiums and chanting as a group against the opposing team is mindless crap and children shouldn’t be subjected to it.

Grrr…I’m so worked up right now……

Okay, deeep breaths….inhale…one Mississippi, two Mississippi….exhale.

Anyway, our friend, Warren, managed to keep the trash talking to a minimum (he is an O’s bandwagoner too). In fact, we ended up having a really great time! The game was just awesome – and not because the Yankees won, but because both teams played well.

We went home the following morning and I’ve been blue ever since. I have to say, without a doubt, that this is on my top 10 best mini-vacation ever! I’m a little depressed that it’s over and that I’m back in rained-out New Jersey. It’s like waking up from a really good dream and you don’t really know if you dreamt it all or if it actually happened. DC/Baltimore seemed like a whole other world and I keep looking at the pictures as if it all happened to another person. And yet there I am, drinking and flirting with the camera.

~ by Binibining Beth on June 29, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
