Where have all the good men gone?

And where are all the gods?
Where’s the street-wise Hercules to fight the rising odds?
Isn’t there a white knight upon a fiery steed?
Late at night I toss and turn and I dream of what I need!

I met up with Nina at Houlihan’s near her office for happy hour tonight. Just a little background on why this was a big deal for me, I don’t do happy hour, for the simple reason that I’ve never worked with anyone who wanted to go out drinking right after work.

The people I work with all have to rush home to pick up their kids, cook dinner or attend some PTA meeting. A few years back, when I worked with kids my age, we were all spending 60 hours a week together, so spending more time together after work was not our idea of fun.

So, anyway, I met up with Nina and sat at the bar, which was already packed with yuppies from her office. We were there, yukking it up over a few drinks when Nina pointed out Michael, a coworker she’s had the hots for since they met.

And I can see why. He’s your atypical white guy yuppie, well dressed, tall, good looking, and holding a cold glass of beer. But he seemed really nice, and from what Nina’s told me about him, he’s smart too.

We chat with him for a bit and a couple of other people, then find a booth to eat dinner. Among the many topics we laughed about was the shortage of good men in the world. Take for example, our waiter. Very very charming tall guy. Let’s put aside the fact that he works for tips, okay?? He was very attentive, funny and I especially loved the little piece of gold jewelry he was wearing on his finger.

I told Nina, as I noticed Michael looking at us, that she should go after him. I know a good guy when I see one. Ummm…actually, that’s not true at all. I know a bad guy when I see one, and Michael ain’t a bad guy. There, that’s a truer statement.

Nina and I are at a point in our lives when the world should be our oyster. We’re young, smart, career-oriented, good looking women with business cards (trust me, that’s a big deal) and we should be having the time of our lives! Nina’s done with school, and tax season’s over for me, now’s the time to get bu-zay, if you know what I mean.

With a resounding, “Hells yeah!” from Nina, we made a pact that by this time next week we’re getting laid.

Just kidding.

No really! I’m just joking. We’re not desperate.

Anyway, getting back to the topic of looking for a good man, I remembered that Father’s Day is coming up this weekend. Fathers were once good men taken off the market by that one lucky woman who had to fight tooth and nail for him.

I’m going to Atlantic City on Saturday, to see if I can get lucky….errr, I mean, to try my luck.

To three former good men, Gooch, Stanks, and Trashman, have a Happy Father’s Day!!

To the rest of you, have a great weekend!

~ by Binibining Beth on June 17, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
