I’m on my way – I don’t know where I’m going

About a week ago, I found out that you can actually download songs from Walmart.com for only $0.88 each! So, off I went and downloaded like 20 songs. On their own, these are just great songs, but I have my own reasons for downloading them.

  1. Yeah! by Usher – just cause I like dancing to it. Besides, Usher’s hot! You won’t hear me say that of any other non-white guy! hahaha!
  2. Work It by Missy Elliott – reminds me of the countless nights Joanne, Nina and I “worked it” on the dance floor……..wow, that didn’t come out right at all.
  3. Pieces of Me by Ashlee Simpson – simply because she’s Jessica’s little sister. The song endeared itself to me even more after I found out about Ashlee’s SNL blooper – God love you Ashlee for trying to upstage your hot sister but you can stop trying now.
  4. Personal Jesus by Depeche Mode – this is for Phipps. I used to think he had good taste in music (well, in everything else also) until he said Marilyn Manson’s version was better. Eh, I’ll just chalk it up to the fact that he’s a young ‘un and doesn’t know what he’s talking about. 😉
  5. Maps by Yeah Yeah Yeahs – this is for Nina…..rock on sister!
  6. Another One Bites the Dust by Queen – reminds me of Stewie Griffin, when he sang this song for his poor victims – damn them all to hell!
  7. Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen – Wayne’s World, excellent! ‘Nuff said!
  8. I Want To Break Free by Queen – damn you Coca Cola and your clever marketing strategies! Their commercial got me singing this song and drinking C2! This song makes me want to let loose and do goofy things in the office like answer the phone with: “Hidy Ho, taxpayer, what can I do ya for?” Or chose not to staple together my files and just let them loose in the folder. Yeah, good times.
  9. Don’t Stop Me Now by Queen – I love this song because it was played in one of my favorite movies of the year, “Shaun of the Dead.” It’s catchy and it’s just a great feel-good song, my favorite line: “I’m a racing car passing by like Lady Godiva!”
  10. Float On by Modest Mouse – this is for my lil Sis, Sammie. One of the rare times we agreed on a good song.
  11. Move Your Feet by Junior Senior – this reminds me of Halloween 2003 when the girls and I went to a club in the city after the Village parade. I noticed that there were a lot of really good looking guys there….it wasn’t until they had the drag show that we realized that we were in a gay club. D’oh!
  12. Saturday in the Park by Chicago – this is for Joanne and that fun day we spent at Yankee stadium….go figure it was a Saturday in the ball park.
  13. Virtual Insanity by Jamiroquai – this is for Warren, the intrepid young man who sang this song in Karaoke Revolution on PS2.
  14. Come on Eileen by Kevin Rowland & Dexys Midnight Runners – toora loora toora loo rye aye! Couldn’t have said it better.
  15. Baby Now That I’ve Found You by The Foundations – “baby, now that I’ve found you I can’t let you go, I built my world around you. I need you so, baby even though, you don’t need me!” Gotta love me my stalker songs.
  16. Time of the Season by The Zombies – gotta stay in touch with the flowerchild inside us, right?
  17. Me and Julio Down By the Schoolyard by Paul Simon – I wish I could say I knew this song was by Paul Simon all along…..but it was Dave Matthew’s cover version of this song that led me to it. Mr. Simon, I apologize for being so ignorant! No one should be allowed to cover this song.
  18. Wild World by Cat Stevens – serves as a friendly reminder: “Hope you make a lot of nice friends out there, but just remember there’s a lot of bad and beware.”
  19. Tequila by The Champs – I couldn’t think of a better way to end this unusual compilation.

So there you have it. Don’t try to figure out why I decided to put them all in one cd, you’ll just drive yourself crazy (goodness knows it was a short trip for me). Who else would put Cat Stevens, Queen, Missy Elliott and Depeche Mode in one cd? That’s why I labeled the cd, “Makes No Sense Whatsoever.” 

~ by Binibining Beth on January 4, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
