My day

Added to the regular amount of stress that I have been getting on a daily basis at work, I also now have to stress about our upcoming peer review. It comes every 3 years, as is required by the AICPA (American Institute of CPA). And what luck! Three of the five projects they chose to review were MY projects last year. I think I’m working harder now to clean up my projects (mostly my audit work) than when I originally did the jobs!

But today, after a full day of making sure all my t’s were crossed, I had my very first annual staff review. I was really nervous about it because lately I feel like I haven’t been performing up to the firm’s standards. But I walk into the conference room with the three partners in our firm, and they are all smiles! My review went great! They even went so far as to give me a raise! Whoohoo!

But my elation lasted only a few minutes, when I had to tell the partners that I had to keep the meeting short because I had to get back to work. I ended up working overtime tonight…..with the prospect of working overtime for the rest of the week, and possibly into the weekend.

Then I get home, to find that my ex-boyfriend has finally responded to an email I sent him. I had emailed him just to be friendly and see how he’s doing…….wanted to use that as my first step to trying to get my stuff back from him. His email was short, and shocking.

He told me that his uncle died of a heart attack last week. His uncle was practically his father and best friend all in one. I can’t even imagine how devasted my ex is feeling right now. It didn’t surprise me that my first reaction was to rush over there and comfort him. I was greatly saddened by this bit of news as I have always liked his uncle because he was always so nice to me.

I only started to calm down and stop crying when I thought about how my ex probably already has someone else to comfort him. I know it’s totally inappropriate to be thinking that right now, but I couldn’t help it. After all, he had stopped caring for me long before I stopped caring for him, and maybe a small part of me still does. So sue me.

Anyway, I turn on the telly to try to get my mind off of my ex by watching the game. Big mistake. My gut feeling was the Yankees were going to lose tonight. And when Damon hit those two grand slams, I knew it was over.

I take my hat off to the Red Sox. They deserved it.

Inside I weep.

~ by Binibining Beth on October 20, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
