Feel the burn, baby!!

So about a month ago, I joined a gym in town. My family was ecstatic, the birds were singing, children were playing and all was right with the world!

Okay, so I’m not a health nut, or athletic or anywhere near what my doctor would like me to be. But I’m not hopeless!!! Am I?

Most of the time I just go on the treadmill for 1/2 hour….or until I feel my legs turn to jello, whichever comes first. Been trying to build up the endurance to run for a mile, but I can’t run for 2 minutes without wheezing like a person with asthma in a sandstorm. But I’m determined to get there!

I remember now why I didn’t like going to the gym in the first place. NO! It’s not because I was lazy! It’s because it’s a veritable meat market….or at least, they make it look like one. I can’t turn my head without some chick, who didn’t need to be working out, showing off her perfectly toned body. Yeah, that makes me feel REAL good – in my sweats, wheezing for breath, perspiring like…..umm….what perspires a lot?? Oiy…mind is going dumb. Must be breathing in too much of the “muscle head” atmosphere in the gym.

But I try to enjoy myself. Think positive thoughts. Think of reaching that goal. Just think of that time when I can run without my heart running a marathon with me……when I can go up the three flights of steps to our office without stopping for breath on every landing…..when I can actually EAT HEALTHY!!

Yeah right!! That’ll be the day. So as long there are cows and pigs in the world, healthy can just kiss my fat ass.

~ by Binibining Beth on August 30, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
